Tuesday, February 9, 2010

Regional Cooperation for Development (RCD)

Regional Cooperation for Development (RCD) was a multi-governmental organization which was originally established in 1964 by Iran, Pakistan and Turkey, which were also the regional members of the Central Treaty Organization (CENTO), to allow socio-economic development of the member states. Although, the organization continued on a rather slower pace, it didn't accrue the much desired results. 

After twelve unsatisfactory years, the three regional Heads of State held a summit in Izmir on 22 April 1976, making amendments to the 1964 declaration. The Treaty of Izmir was signed in 1977 as the legal framework for RCD. However, before the amended framework could be put into action, due to the Islamic revolution in Iran in the late 70s and the reservations of the new government in Iran, the organization was dissolved in 1979. 

Pakistan Post and the Postal Services of Iran and Turkey simultaneously issued commemorative stamps each year on 21 July to celebrate the anniversary of founding of the RCD. The stamps issued by all three countries had the same design.

It was many years later in 1985, that a new organization by the name of Economic Cooperation Organization (ECO) was formed by Iran, Pakistan and Turkey. Later many other countries also became part of ECO and today its member countries are ten in number, including the three founding members.

Related Reading:


Post a Comment

Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More